Suit Up!

21 Jun

Wonderful Thursday night with my trusty laptop and sweet glass of wine… ahh, the stuff dreams are made of. Now if only this chair was a hottub.

The hubs is playing his new favorite video game on the computer in the next room. Apparently, IT IS CRAZY AWESOME and has robots and sounds like destruction. Love that nerd.

Speaking of destruction, tonight I made dinner. I will be the first to admit that I am not the best at domestical endeavors such as the creation of tasty foods. However, I DO believe I am smart enough to follow step-by-step directions.

Evidently, not so.

Who knew that picking the right substitute ingredients would be so crucial? Why did I even pick a recipe that required said substitutions? I have plenty of other ingredients that are supposed to actually go together to make actual meals! Why did I feel the need to give myself a personal kitchen challenge?? Boo on you, tricky recipe and your “prepared mustard” and other ingredients I tried to unsuccessfully exchange. Yes, the mistake was made before I even began… never really had a chance (do you feel sorry for me yet?). All was not lost though, thanks to my side of microwaveable steam-in-a-bag veggies (is that cheating? I don’t care because they are delicious). In the end, the meal was still totally edible AND I did not have to do the dishes. So, WIN.

All this talk of food and recipes makes me want to head over to Pinterest and get lost in time and space for about 23283794 hours. Seriously, time flies when you get sucked into Pinterest-world. There are so many interesting/pretty/delicious things to pin! But then I wonder, how do people have time to be so crafty? Or are these pins just inspiration that never actually make it into the light? And if so, isn’t that just depressing and the total opposite of the purpose of pinning?? Am I thinking too much about this??

Don’t get me wrong, I love pinning. It helps to inspire me and introduce me to the many possibilities of what could be. It drives me to dream. But it does not always drive me to act. And I don’t think I’m alone, here. I think that is where most of us get stuck.

Actions. Dude, those are hard sometimes. It’s one thing to talk about the plans, to create the goals, but it is completely another thing to take ACTION towards making those plans and goals a reality. Whether it is moving forward in your career, getting in shape, learning new skills, or asking out that girl you can’t stop bothering your friends about (seriously guys – not that hard to invite her to Starbucks), you WILL NOT MAKE IT unless you take a step (or 2 or 500) in that direction. This may sound like #DUH – but if you are facing this kind of “goal-setting vs goal-doing” dilemma, you totally get me right now. I know who you are (not really but you do).

So what ARE the next steps? Don’t get crazy. Just start with something doable for YOU. Something reasonable you can do today or every day or every week to move forward in the direction you want to go. Seek out opportunities, and decide to take them on. Then give yourself an “I am awesome and can totally do this one handed with my eyes closed” pep talk and exclaim– (in the words of the Legend-wait for it-DARY Barney Stinson)–

Challenge: Accepted.

 

Barney-Stinson-barney-stinson-15066650-500-430

Leave a Reply

