christian christmas rant

7 Dec

I came across this blog (and a similar blog here) about the whole “taking Christ out of Christmas” / “Happy Holidays vs Merry Christmas” thing and thought I would share. I definitely agree.

Seeing as how I spent a semester at the Focus on the Family Leadership Institute, I was able to kind of experience first hand all the good they do when, as Jason says, “they actually, you know, focus on the family“. But when they get off and start taking stands for things that make no sense, it becomes clearer how so many people take issue with the organization.

But this isnt just FotF, this is a lot of Christian organizations, a lot of churches, a lot of Christians in general.

Its easy to get caught up in the religion of it all, the legalistic parts of Christianity. I am no expert on this subject, but I do know that when we as Christ-followers start to alienate people who dont agree with us 100%, then we really shouldnt be calling ourselves Christ-followers.

Still, Christians are humans too. Mistakes will be made, even with the best of intentions. And you know what they say about good intentions.

And yet, this is exactly why I dont like being called a “Christian”. Most of the time, I dont want to be associated with that word in any way when describing myself and my beliefs. There are so many ridiculous things that “Christians” do in the name of Christ that Im pretty sure HE does not want to be associated with either.

For me, I would have to agree that the whole “Christians = hypocrites” idea is sad… because its mostly true. Being raised in the church and attending private christian school, I have been surrounded by these kinds of Christians. No, not all of them are this way, and no, I am not exempt. Ive done my own fair share of putting on the Christian show and “going through the motions” of Christianity. I understand it, I even sympathize, but there is HUGE problem when you start living a sort of double life. But hey, as long as you look like a Christian, thats close enough right?

Why are we so dumb.

3 Responses to “christian christmas rant”

  1. drew December 7, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    good stuff. I approve.

  2. me December 13, 2009 at 2:50 am #

    very thought provoking.

  3. Tishrei December 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    Hi, I agree. The stand that Focus on the Family it taking is so annoying and actually damaging. I guess they are annoying a lot of Christians as I also blogged about it today (seems like a number of us did). I think you were a bit more kind in your post than I was. The way I see it is Focus on the Family distances itself from the world in which they are supposed to reach. There is absolutely nothing in scripture to suggest that the non believer is supposed to live up to Christian standards before coming to faith. Focus on the Family makes that demand before they will grace them with their presence.

Leave a Reply

