a disappointing perspective

3 Dec

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28

 

So, do I believe God is going to work all things out for good? Sure. But who’s good are we talking about here? Mine? Because if its MY definition of a good outcome, things are going to turn out a certain way, just how I want them to, when I want them to (ASAP), because that is what I think the best outcome would be. So I desire this outcome, I put my hope in this outcome, and what do I get? Disappointed.

Ouch.

But why am I surprised?  I know God’s plans are 2834720394 times better than my own.  I mean, lets be serious, He actually knows the future, has all the facts, and is ALL-knowing. Omniscient, if you will. He knows my needs, hopes, dreams, passions, and deepest desires of my heart.  He created me with those things.

So yeah, I should know better. But the truth is, I like to be in control of my own life. Shocking, I know. So as I keep trying in vain to get God to do what I want, I become more and more disheartened, disappointed, and discontent with, well, my life in general. Then I begin to feel broken and worthless, getting swallowed up by frustration and paralyzed by my own emotions.

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life. – Proverbs 13:12

 

Hope deferred. Hope that is lost, unfulfilled, delayed, not realized. It hurts. It makes the heart ache.

How do you survive this state? Not with the snap of your fingers, the turn of a page, or good night’s sleep. It’s a process. A long process that involves a digging deeper into the Truth of who God IS. Maybe you have to change your perspective a little. Take Him out of the box you smooshed Him in and learn something new about who he REALLY is, not just who you think He is or want Him to be.

Moving beyond disappointment is a continual decision, a determination, and a perseverance of moving deeper into the foundational truths of hope in Jesus Christ. It is choosing to believe that nothing is impossible with God. It is to believe persistently that God is able to turn negative situations into positive outcomes. It is to believe and hope for God’s best to result in any given circumstance. It is to believe the truth of God’s Word over the disappointment encountered. It is a trust built upon hope in the promises of God Who is able to do exceedingly and abundantly above all that we could ask or hope! – Shirley Frey

 

God is an expert at making good out of bad. Transformation is kind of His specialty. So even when I make a mess out of things, He can and will be working behind the scenes with wise and loving motives to use my mess for His glory. His intentions are not to bring us harm or abandon us, but to love and care for us. He wants to give us the future we hope for (Jer 29:11).

When my hope is in Christ, it will never disappoint. God is a God of hope (Romans 15:13). When I take a step back and think about why I am disappointed, it is not because God failed to come through for me. It is because of people, circumstances, communication (or lack thereof), my own thoughts and my skewed beliefs and perspectives. When my hope is in these things, when I trust in these things, have expectations of these things, look forward to these things, desire and dream about these things, then I WILL BE let down. But when I hope, trust, expect, look forward to, desire, and dream about the things of the Lord, then I will begin to discover the truth of who He really is. And as I trust Him more and more for who He really is, I will be able to trust and abound in hope during the most challenging and difficult times.  

Its amazing what a change of perspective can do. Disappointment is really an opportunity to understand God more and to change our mindset about how He works.

Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

