things that should not be.

8 Feb

There are a lot of things that should not be, but one such thing is this:

ICE on my car. In Florida. 

Luckily, after a previous ice-in-northern-Florida experience in December, I decided to put my handy dandy ice-scraper in the trunk. The one I had bought during my Fall semester in Colorado. Where one would need such a tool on a regular basis. Because it snows there.

Now, I put the ice-scraper in the trunk, hoping I would never have to actually use it. Logically, I would never have to actually use it, since I do, in fact, live in Florida. However, I awoke Friday morning to an ice-covered car. 

Oh Florida, where have you gone?! 

So I used my ice-scraper. And my fingers froze. Here are some pics:

Thats right kids. Just when you think you know something… or someone… they go and do something you would never expect.

Okay so now that makes me wonder. How well do you ever really know someone? I mean, there are some people you think you know like the back of your hand, but they still surprise you at times. Good and bad. I find it interesting that God knows His children and His creation so well that He is never surprised. He knows everything I have done and will do. Ever. And He loves me anyways. He loves me just as much. I dont understand it.  

Deep down, we are all selfish, sinful beings. Our human nature is a much bigger issue than mother nature (so the pastor talked about at the church I visited this morning). When push comes to shove, we look out for number one. Our true colors are ugly.

Where is the love? Where is the genuine care for each other? Where is the community and connection and relationship building that should be taking place? I want to be a part of something bigger than myself. Bigger than my selfishness.

When we live for ourselves, we live for sin. As followers of Christ, we have been set free from that – we are no longer slaves to our selfish human nature. 

For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been freed from sin.  (Romans 6:6-7)

Embrace the new. Embrace freedom. Refuse to be a slave. (thats another thing that should not be)

Leave a Reply

