puzzles, pain, and the big picture

7 Dec

Its cool to see people follow their dreams.

I have noticed some friends of mine who are determined to follow their dreams, their passion, their “calling”. And some of them are striving to figure out just what those dreams are. Everyone wants to have purpose. Everyone wants to have a cause. Right? Find a problem and fix it. Hah, that reminds me of that SNL skit:

Haha, its obviously not the best quality clip, but still great.

Anyways… maybe God places certain desires in us? I mean, we are born with a certain personality, skill set and natural talents… so if God created us, and He doesnt make mistakes, then we are the way we are for a reason, right? Maybe we just need to hone in on our talents, and figure out how they all fit together, like a puzzle. Perhaps we are specifically designed to fulfill a specific purpose. To paint a specific picture.

Maybe that sort of thinking can be applied to hardships and painful circumstances as well. When you experience something painful, isnt it possible that the reason could be to help you fulfill your specific purpose? Or even help someone else to do the same? They say what doesnt kill you makes you stronger. If youve learned from it, if youve grown stronger in your relationship with God, if youve gained something, then it wasnt just a waste of time.

I mean, think about it, if you have a problem or if youre going through something tough, then arent you most likely to talk to someone who has been through something similar? Someone who came face-to-face with adversity and came through the other side victorious?

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength. (Phil 4:11-13)

This all probably sounds like, DUH! haha. I think everytime I start to write a blog I end up somewhere completely different than I intended. Oh well. I was just trying to point out the idea that maybe all we have to do is focus on seeking God, and just following where He guides our next step rather than trying to figure out the whole big picture. Maybe if we do that, everything else will fall into place.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:33-34)

Leave a Reply

