thanks

27 Nov

In the past, I have wished people a “Happy Turkey Day” on Thanksgiving, but I realize there are many (like my sisters) who do not eat turkey. One of my sisters loves ham, always have, always will, and turkey shall always fall extremely short when compared to it. So it makes sense, when presented with both ham and turkey on days like today, why waste valuable stomach space with your non-favorite meat? My other sister is a vegetarian, so thats pretty self-explanatory.

But I LOVE me some turkey! Turkey on my Publix subs (one of my favorite foods of all time), turkey on my spinach wraps I usually get for lunch at the school cafeteria, and most definately turkey on Thanksgiving. It never gets old and yet, I can still view it as one of those “special occasion” foods. In my mind, its timeless.

What else is timeless? Jesus. And His love. Yeah I went there. Im just sayin, if Im going to talk about my favorite things on a day dedicated to being thankful, Im definately going to mention the one relationship in my life that has impacted me more than any other. I am so incredibly thankful for Gods love and faithfulness and Truth in my life. I would not be who I am without it.

Speaking of relationships. Some friends are good at being friends, and some friends suck at it. I have been both Im sure, just as others have been for me. Nobody is perfect, and yet I still hold certain close friends to some sort of higher standard of friendship, if that makes sense. I think true friends call you out when you are doing things or acting in ways you shouldnt be, they encourage you, they pray for you, they love you, they point out truth in your life, they point you to the Truth… They arent afraid to love when love hurts. They are not just there out of convenience. They tell you what you need to hear rather than just what you want to hear.

I could go on forever, but the point is, I can complain all I want about the friends that are not those things for me, but am I really allowed to if I am not those things for them?

Maybe I will continue this train of thought in later posts. Right now I am just going to focus on the day – Thanksgiving! Hope you all enjoy the turkey or ham or vegetables or whatever it is you love to eat today, but most of all — enjoy the company of those around you, and let them know just how thankful you are to have them in your life!

Leave a Reply

