pre-thanksgiving

27 Nov

Tonight we celebrated my grandma’s 83rd birthday! It was fun, and there was cake.

Both of my sisters and I drove home today for the long Thanksgiving weekend, so its fun to all be under the same roof, re-living our childhood, haha. I guess the older you get, the less you are all together, and therefore, the more special those together-times are. Seems like a pretty obvious point.

Over the past 5 years or so that I have been off at school and out of the house, my appreciation for my family, especially my parents, has grown so much. My background, my upbringing, my childhood, the way I was raised, the kinds of relationships I have with my family — I am truly blessed.

I love family. Real blood family as well as friend-families. I have certain friends I would consider to be like family, and it makes my heart happy just thinking about them. I am so thankful for the role they have each played in my life up to this point. And Im excited to see new friendships developing in this new season of my life.

Crazy how things change so quickly. Nothing stays the same. I guess thats why its important to live in the moment, in the here and now, to “sieze the day” (carpe diem!) and appreciate what you have right now. Because in less than a second lives change forever. Who do you love? Who are you thankful for? Why? Tell them.

Now.

Leave a Reply

